Organization That’s “Really Simple”

April 14, 2010

This week in class we’ve been looking at RSS (Really Simple Syndication) feeds, podcasts, and videopodcasts. I was motivated to hunt down some to add to my iGoogle page. I’m not much for randomly searching the Internet, so this is a nice way to stay connected to specific things I’m interested in.

I have RSS feeds either directly on my page or through iTunes now for:

Learning TRENDS from Elliot Masie

Thiagi Group

TED Talks

NPR’s This American Life radio show

NPR’s Wait, Wait . . . Don’t Tell Me

What I love about this is how organized things are getting. Finally, there are really simple (like “really simple syndication”) ways of organizing and using the infinite amount of information the Web has brought us.

Now, if only I had an iPhone or iPad I could be portable with it all.

-Lisa

3 Responses to “Organization That’s “Really Simple””

  1. Cyndi said

    Lisa,
    I too listen to “This American Life” and “Wait, Wait…don’t tell me” also “Fresh Air” and TED and a couple of techie ones. There is so much out there to listen to but sometimes I find myself on the brink of information overload – but if I back off then I feel like I’m falling behind because the world of technology changes so rapidly.

    Good luck on acquiring an iPhone or iPad.
    ~Cyndi

    • lgyoder said

      Cyndi, I always feel behind! I listen to a lot of NPR in the car but it’s really hit or miss. This American Life and Wait, Wait . .. Don’t Tell Me are entertaining enough to warrant listening to at home from the computer while I clean though. I want to start doing a better job keeping up with the educational technology journals and information though.

      Blessings, Lisa

  2. Diane said

    Agreed! There’s so much garbage on the web and I’ve never really bothered to learn about RSS feeds until I took this class. It really is a good way to get the information you want to come to you.

Leave a Reply

